DMdrummer

Advertisement
Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length

Author Topic: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?  (Read 2749 times)

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« on: December 20, 2011, 01:41:49 PM »

I have the DM10 Studio kit and I'm noticing regardless of how tight I have the clamp for the snare stand that it will inevitably move on me and it will always be while I'm in the middle of playing a song because that's just my luck.

I have to constantly adjust or move the snare back up to its original spot (upwards).

Is anyone else having or had this issue and is there any fixes for it? My toms do not have the same problem, just the snare that wants to move in the downward position the more and more that I strike the snare. Thanks.

Sean
Logged

einarabelc5

  • Former Member
  • Former Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 246
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #1 on: December 20, 2011, 04:00:44 PM »

Un-adjust the bolts on the pipe (that ones that hold the pipe to the leg not the ones that hold the pipe itself)

My snare bounces ALL the time and I don't have a problem with it.

Good Luck.
Logged

Ennuk3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #2 on: December 20, 2011, 04:04:40 PM »

Just tighten it hard and I mean HARD. Only thing that works.
Logged

RiKToR

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 10
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2011, 07:50:24 PM »

I set mine up so that the snare is actually sitting with the pipe centered underneath it.  That means I move the clamp back and have the snare run down the length of the pipe.  Since I hit the snare relatively near the center I only have to adjust maybe once during a session, and even that is a minor adjustment.
Logged

vtdrummer

  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Current DM10 Studio Setup
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2011, 07:55:50 PM »

I picked up a used (almost new) arm, attached it to the left corner leg, and mounted my snare on it.  My snare is also almost directly straight out from the arm, so it doesn't move at all.

I got a mounting clamp separately online, too, but not an Alesis... maybe a Gibraltar?

I might try to pick up another to mount my module on like another user here did.
Logged
DM10 Studio 2011 w/Surge Cymbals added, BB Mesh head conversion w/rubber muffs at bottom, one 12" A-E pad, Simmons DA200S, sometimes using 2 satellite speakers... Simmons SDMP-1 Multi-pad.
See my DIY 12" Acoustic to E-Drum project post here: http://www.dmdrummer.com/index.php?topic=1227

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2011, 07:14:58 AM »

Just tighten it hard and I mean HARD. Only thing that works.

They are as tight as they are going to get and it still moves.
Logged

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2011, 07:17:22 AM »

I picked up a used (almost new) arm, attached it to the left corner leg, and mounted my snare on it.  My snare is also almost directly straight out from the arm, so it doesn't move at all.

I got a mounting clamp separately online, too, but not an Alesis... maybe a Gibraltar?

I might try to pick up another to mount my module on like another user here did.

Any chance you have a couple of pics of your set up and extra clamp being used so I can get an idea of what you mean?
Logged

Ennuk3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #7 on: December 21, 2011, 08:15:43 AM »

Just tighten it hard and I mean HARD. Only thing that works.

They are as tight as they are going to get and it still moves.

It won't move, it will wobble only if it is tight enough and that wobbling is not a problem.
Logged

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #8 on: December 21, 2011, 09:10:23 AM »

Just tighten it hard and I mean HARD. Only thing that works.

They are as tight as they are going to get and it still moves.

It won't move, it will wobble only if it is tight enough and that wobbling is not a problem.

I can assure you that I've tightened it as tight as it will go and it still moves. You are more than welcome to come over and give it a go.  ;D
Logged

vtdrummer

  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Current DM10 Studio Setup
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #9 on: December 21, 2011, 09:14:17 AM »

I'm not sure if this would work, or make it worse, but how about some black Duck Tape!

But DO NOT use sponge sticky tape... that does NOT work on clamps... I tried that on a DIY clamp, and it was worse than the clamp alone.  It allows too much "movement" and the clamp just turned from the weight of the pad all by itself overnight!

I did not try Duck Tape though, so I'm not sure if that would hold, and make the pipe just large enough to hold it... maybe one or two wraps...???
Logged
DM10 Studio 2011 w/Surge Cymbals added, BB Mesh head conversion w/rubber muffs at bottom, one 12" A-E pad, Simmons DA200S, sometimes using 2 satellite speakers... Simmons SDMP-1 Multi-pad.
See my DIY 12" Acoustic to E-Drum project post here: http://www.dmdrummer.com/index.php?topic=1227

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #10 on: December 21, 2011, 05:53:42 PM »

I'm not sure if this would work, or make it worse, but how about some black Duck Tape!

But DO NOT use sponge sticky tape... that does NOT work on clamps... I tried that on a DIY clamp, and it was worse than the clamp alone.  It allows too much "movement" and the clamp just turned from the weight of the pad all by itself overnight!

I did not try Duck Tape though, so I'm not sure if that would hold, and make the pipe just large enough to hold it... maybe one or two wraps...???

I actually was debating whether to stick some duct tape on there or not. At least I'm not the only one who thinks that way.

I'm wondering why we have to resort to using duct tape because of a poor product? That's really annoying to say the least.
Logged

vaikl

  • Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,037
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #11 on: December 21, 2011, 07:42:59 PM »

I'm wondering why we have to resort to using duct tape because of a poor product? That's really annoying to say the least.

As vt asked before - could we see a picture on how you've mounted your snare pad?

I'm in gym two times a week, training my upper arms amongst others, but I never was able to push my snare down like this during play ;)
Logged

vaikl

  • Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,037
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #12 on: December 21, 2011, 07:46:03 PM »

BTW: please don't ask *me* about a picture of my upper arms ;D
Logged

Gerdy

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 176
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #13 on: December 21, 2011, 07:57:56 PM »

I recommend iron rack clamps from DIXON.
Used these clamps with my former studio kit.
Very nice, if you plan to gig with your drum set because of the quick lock functionallity.



vaikl

  • Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 2,037
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #14 on: December 21, 2011, 08:11:09 PM »

That's why I liked my old, square cross-sectioned rack for my Pearl Masters Custom. Very heavy (steel), but no slipping at all with the square quick locks. Not stylish, but best rack I ever had.
Logged

vtdrummer

  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Current DM10 Studio Setup
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #15 on: December 21, 2011, 09:16:49 PM »

I have the standard DM10 Studio clamps, and I've never had one move... this is very odd... almost like you might have one bad clamp.

Maybe try swapping that clamp with another Tom that you don't hit very often?
Logged
DM10 Studio 2011 w/Surge Cymbals added, BB Mesh head conversion w/rubber muffs at bottom, one 12" A-E pad, Simmons DA200S, sometimes using 2 satellite speakers... Simmons SDMP-1 Multi-pad.
See my DIY 12" Acoustic to E-Drum project post here: http://www.dmdrummer.com/index.php?topic=1227

Hellfire

  • Humble Overseer
  • Global Moderator
  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 3,568
    • Hellfire Electronic Drum Systems
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #16 on: December 21, 2011, 10:30:03 PM »

Hi hockeyfan94,

To be honest, without a picture to show how you have it mounted, its going to be really hard to help you. Based on what you have described, it sounds as if you have your snare trigger mounted in such a way that it is cantilevered way out off the "L" rod mount. Plastic clamps can only hold so much. If it's cantilevered out, and you are a heavy hitter that uses heavy sticks (i.e. 5B), yes that snare is going to move. I would try using a lighter stick (5A) and readjusting the trigger so it sits more over the center of gravity of the clamp. If that doesn't work, get a snare stand. I don't like having my hi-hat or my snare attached to the rack. Too much crosstalk adjustments to deal with anyway. I hope that helps.
Logged
For more edrum info, be sure to visit my web site at:
          www.HellfireDrums.com                    
My current set-up:  Alesis DM10 and Trigger I/O with modified & DIY pads

DrumBumWoody

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 154
  • Drummer for The Rogues
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #17 on: December 22, 2011, 04:12:24 PM »

I would really suggest a snare stand. Must more flexibilty to position exactly where you want it.
Logged
DM10x2 Pro with surge cyms + additional surge crash and tom + Roland PD125 snare + Roland KD120 Kick with Iron Cobra double pedals, all with mesh heads(HellFire conversion - BBIII), DM7 USB, USB Pro, Trigger I/O, Tama percussion, Conga's, Bongo's, Roto Toms, cow bell and block.

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #18 on: December 24, 2011, 05:53:09 PM »

Hi hockeyfan94,

To be honest, without a picture to show how you have it mounted, its going to be really hard to help you. Based on what you have described, it sounds as if you have your snare trigger mounted in such a way that it is cantilevered way out off the "L" rod mount. Plastic clamps can only hold so much. If it's cantilevered out, and you are a heavy hitter that uses heavy sticks (i.e. 5B), yes that snare is going to move. I would try using a lighter stick (5A) and readjusting the trigger so it sits more over the center of gravity of the clamp. If that doesn't work, get a snare stand. I don't like having my hi-hat or my snare attached to the rack. Too much crosstalk adjustments to deal with anyway. I hope that helps.

I understand that people can only speculate at what my problem might be without actually having a visual to take a look at. I'll do my best to get a couple photos taken and uploaded on here over the xmas break.

I may want to go snare stand anyway. If I decide to go that route, am I looking for just a run of the mill snare stand or are there specially made ones? Thanks.
Logged

Ennuk3

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 351
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #19 on: December 24, 2011, 06:13:10 PM »

Maybe you just hit too hard, dynamics are important too, you know.
Logged

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #20 on: December 24, 2011, 06:50:08 PM »

Maybe you just hit too hard, dynamics are important too, you know.

Yeah that could very well be true, but my tom3, which I hit just as "hard" hasn't moved at all. Granted I don't hit it nearly as often as I do the snare, but I do hit it with the same velocity and force as I do the snare.
Logged

hockeyfan94

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 31
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #21 on: December 29, 2011, 08:00:17 PM »

Thanks to all who pushed me in the right direction. I'm embarrassed to admit that it was not the snare clamp at all. That was tight as one could get it. It was actually caused by the extension pole that the snare sits on not being seated right in the base of the H stand. I seated it properly and tightened that down and viola! Thanks to all!
Logged

vtdrummer

  • Ultimate Member
  • *****
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 1,015
  • Current DM10 Studio Setup
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #22 on: December 29, 2011, 08:28:18 PM »

Nice... glad you figured it out...
Logged
DM10 Studio 2011 w/Surge Cymbals added, BB Mesh head conversion w/rubber muffs at bottom, one 12" A-E pad, Simmons DA200S, sometimes using 2 satellite speakers... Simmons SDMP-1 Multi-pad.
See my DIY 12" Acoustic to E-Drum project post here: http://www.dmdrummer.com/index.php?topic=1227

einarabelc5

  • Former Member
  • Former Member
  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Offline Offline
  • Posts: 246
Re: Snare clamp not strong enough to hold?
« Reply #23 on: January 04, 2012, 02:58:11 PM »

That's why I liked my old, square cross-sectioned rack for my Pearl Masters Custom. Very heavy (steel), but no slipping at all with the square quick locks. Not stylish, but best rack I ever had.

My new Alesis Dm10 studio Kit rack either SUCKS or is defective. I will explain on a new thread.
Logged
 

Advertisement